St Michel de Kergonan Abbey

Abbaye St Michel de Kergonan-Plouharnel-MorbihanAbbaye St Michel de Kergonan 2-Plouharnel-MorbihanAbbaye St Michel de Kergonan 3-Plouharnel-MorbihanAbbaye St Michel de Kergonan 4-Plouharnel-MorbihanAbbaye St Michel de Kergonan 5-Plouharnel-Morbihan
Address:
Route de Carnac
56340  PLOUHARNEL

Phone: 02 97 52 32 14

The Saint Michel of Kergonan Benedictine abbey was founded in 1898 by Saint Cécile de Solesmes abbey. Faithful to Saint-Benoît’s spirit, the nuns devoted their lives to praying to God in the community prayers (sung in Gregorian) and personal prayers. They also worked manually to keep themselves and to help their impoverished brothers.

 

In 1901 following anticlerical laws, the nuns had to leave their unfinished monastery and take refuge in the Isle of Wight in England until 1919.  In 1942, they had to leave the monastery again, in this case for the occupying forces, and went to Coët-Candec near Grand-Champ, until the end of the war. It was only in 1967 that the church, the centre of all lives devoted to God, could be built, thanks to donations and to the work of the nuns.

 

Service in Gregorian everyday at 10am, vespers at 5pm during the week and at 4pm on Sundays and holidays. Permanent exhibition on the Benedictine Order and the monastery’s eventful past. Sale of religious articles, produce made by the nuns (spelt wheat biscuits, organic produce for the garden and a variety of elixir) or by other monasteries. Rooms are available for those wishing to spend a few days reflecting and praying.



Open time:

Open all year


Go back

Baie de Quiberon
Tourisme en Bretagne
Morbihan Tourisme
World bays
Plouharnel, ville de surf

Tourism Office of Plouharnel

Avenue de l'Océan, 56340 Plouharnel
02 97 52 32 93 | Fax 02 97 52 49 87
ot@plouharnel.fr
Opening times

Accomodation discover Sitemap
Sports and leisure Going out in Quiberon Bay Legal notice
Wellness and gastronomy Useful information © e-declic